In order to protect your documents from deletion, your portal allows your firm's managing professional, account owner, and guest team members (personal or professional, subject to their portal permissions) to lock documents.
Unlocking permissions for locked documents
The below table shows the unlocking permissions of different team members .
If a document is unlocked, the user who locks the document owns the unlocking permissions over that file.
Note: Documents uploaded via the desktop version of the portal are locked by default.
To lock a document:
- Navigate to 'Docs' from the menu on the left hand side of your portal.
- In the Docs area, click on the 3 dots under 'Actions' for the document. A drop-down menu will appear, select 'Lock'
- A pop-up will appear, click 'Confirm' to complete the action.
A success message will populate confirming that the document has been locked, and a small lock symbol will appear over the document icon.
To unlock a document ( assuming correct permissions):
- Navigate to 'Docs' from the menu on the left hand side of your portal.
- In the Docs area, navigate, click on the 3 dots under 'Actions' for the locked document. A drop-down menu will appear, select 'Unlock'
- A pop-up will appear, click 'Confirm' to complete the action.
A success message will populate confirming that the document has been unlocked, and the small lock symbol will be removed from the document icon.
Note: If an error message displays,refer to the table at the top of this article for permissions.